AAUW Bennington Branch Minutes of the Annual Membership Meeting

June 19, 2021 (Juneteenth) at Willow Park, Bennington, VT

Present: Approximately 30 members and guests

Call to Order and Approval of Minutes

President Kathy Wagenknecht called to order at 1 pm the first branch meeting since 2019, the 2020 annual meeting having not taken because of the Covid-19 pandemic. Judy Murphy moved, Suzanne Kirkpatrick seconded that the minutes of the June 15, 2019 meeting be approved; motion carried.

Program Committee Survey

The Program Committee distributed a survey to ascertain preferred times for meetings in the coming year and to solicit feedback on potential annual themes, programs and guest speakers.

Nominating Committee

Kathy Wagenknecht announced that the Nominating Committee (Suzanne Kirkpatrick, Julie Mackaman, Judy Murphy) had recruited candidates for the board's three officer positions, each to serve a two-year term. Gudrun Hutchins moved, Margaret Howland seconded that the following candidates be elected as a slate, with terms expiring June 30, 2023; motion carried:

- President: Kathy Wagenknecht (second term)
- Secretary: Julie Mackaman (second term)
- Treasurer: Jan Day (first term, replacing Norma McShane)

She then reported on the 2021-22 committee membership, explaining that the organization's board comprises the three elected officers and committee chairs or designated representatives:

- **Programs**: Margaret Howland, Jackie Marro, Sheila Mullineaux and Judy Kniffin, with ex-officio members Suzanne Kirkpatrick (Hospitality), Judy Murphy (Media), Dawn Rodrigues (Newsletter)
- Newsletter Co-Editors: Dawn Rodrigues and Carolyn Webb, with Gudrun Hutchins, contributing writer
- Hospitality: Suzanne Kirkpatrick, Barbara Marino
- Scholarships: Jennifer Kern, Gudrun Hutchins, Judy Murphy, with alternate Mary Feidner
- Theater Fundraiser: Mary Feidner, Madeline Kennedy
- Media: Judy Murphy
- Member-at-Large: Beth HardestyLegal Advocacy/Public Policy: Open

Book Group

Margaret Howland announced that the book group will have its first in-person meeting since the pandemic on July 21, 2021.

Welcome New and Members

Kathy Wagenknecht welcomed new and prospective members Joy Haupt, Barbara Marino, Jackie Marro and Berta Winiker.

Adjournment

Jeanne Rodgers moved, Sheila Mullineaux seconded that the meeting be adjourned; motion carried, meeting adjourned at 1:20 pm, followed by a raffle drawing for paid-up members.

Respectfully submitted,

Julie Mackaman Secretary